Food 4 Thought Friday and Friday Fill Ins – 6/12/09

sampd937c20589d8d2cb

Breakfast
What activities make you lose track of time?

Too many—cooking, cleaning, eating, crocheting, knitting, cross stitch, playing on the computer, talking to people, reading…if I’m doing something and I’m really involved in it, chances are good that I’m going to lose track of time.

Oh yeah, and I forgot my favorite one: TETRIS!

Lunch
What did you imagine yourself being the most when you were little?

Not really sure. When I was about my daughter’s age, I remember distinctly wanting to be a math teacher for the deaf. Really, I still find sign language interesting. But, after a while, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to be. I didn’t know what was coming, I never even imagined that I’d get married so soon!

Dinner
If you could jump into any book what would it be and why?

Any by Joanna Fluke, Monica Ferris or Diane Mott Davidson. I like the recipes included in Joanna’s (cookies) and Diane’s (depends on what was featured in the chapter the recipe’s paired with) books, and I like that the characters in Diane’s and Monica’s books live in fictional towns near where we have planned to live for a very long time—Fort Collins, Colorado. They are all mysteries, with female main characters, too 😀

Midnight Snack
What is your favorite thing to fix for dinner?

Italian Chicken. It’s a recipe I found in the community recipe swap area on the Weight Watcher’s site (free portion—don’t go looking now, it’s no longer there. Which sucks, because my copy is going to get ruined some day 😦 ). It’s got chicken (of course), tomatoes (crushed and diced tomatoes), celery, red onions, articokes (if I chose to use them), mushrooms (I usually leave them out because T doesn’t like mushrooms for his own reasons) and spaghetti. You don’t cook the spaghetti, you just put it in after the chicken (you use whole breasts, which cook in the sauce made from the tomatoes and the water you add to it) has been shredded.

Recipe of the Week (instead of your recipe for life what is it just for the week?)

Don’t give up. Take my vitamins. Sleep (though I haven’t been perfect with it). And it will all get taken care of, because God is going to put people in my life to help me get healthy, the right way!

fridayfillin-graphic23

1. I grew up thinking my parents were always right and knew everything. Really, even as a teen, I always trusted they knew better, even if I was rebelling (or mom thought I was). I still trust my mom and dad quite a bit, even though I now know they don’t have all the answers. But they are still usually right! (I think they might be surprised to hear that, especially my mom!

2. Facebook was the last website I was at before coming here.

3. Why don’t you?

4. Knitting, crocheting and reading help me relax

5. Thanks for the memories.

6. A doctor telling a patient “it’s just how you are, your parents were big so you’re big” is very off-putting.

7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to eating dinner, and relaxing after a long day of doing doing doing and cleaning some, tomorrow my plans include more relaxing and more cleaning and Sunday, I want to go to church in the morning, like usual, and get my daughter in the afternoon!

That’s it for these memes. If you’d like to play along, feel free to click the accompanying pictures. 🙂 They’ll take you right there.

Leave a Comment