It’s been a while.

I’m going to get this out today, finally. I’ve got to get a lot of things in order, and I have to start somewhere 🙂 This is as good a place as any, and I’ve got to start with writing, one way or another. A lot (if not all, I’m not sure how much I might add to it before I send it out) of this was written a couple months ago, but I’m getting it out now. Some of it was getting comfortable about putting it out there, some of it is just general laziness. But I’m changing things! And this is as good a place as any to start. Because writing is a big part of getting things out there and taken care of.

It’s been quite awhile since I posted anything. In that time, I’ve been going through a lot of changes. To say that I’m in a much better place than I was 5 years ago would be putting it pretty accurately.

So, in no particular order, here are the changes I have made:

1. Ended my marriage – this is probably the biggest one. While it’s not official on paper yet, I sat down back in December and told my husband it was over. Please understand, I hold no ill will towards him. I am grateful to him for all he has done over the past 20 years, he holds a very important place in my life and my heart, because he is after all the father to my children. But as for being his wife, I just can’t anymore. As I said before, it still exists on paper because there are some loose ends that need to be taken care of (taxes, mostly), but otherwise, I’m done.

It’s long past time it was done.

2. My new job – I mentioned it before, in my last post (oh so very long ago – but this is the reason why), that I’m now an auto insurance agent for USAA. This means all day on the phones, working the accounts for members, helping them add or remove a vehicle or pay a bill. It’s great work, I love connecting with the members, and knowing and playing with the ins and outs of insurance particulars satiates my nerdy side. And it pays well, too! It’s amazing to realize I’ve been at this for 5 months (now 6) – and that it’s been that long since I wrote on here! I’m also meeting new friends, and loving pretty much all of my co-workers (even the ones that don’t think I like them). And, when I’m not on a call, I can knit or crochet! I wouldn’t bring my beads to work because of the potential mess! (update – now, I get to work Renters policies and VPP policies! Just got done with training! But I love doing this job!)

3. New apartment – We moved into our own place in November, not long after I started the job. Actually, right on our 20th anniversary. It’s a nice little place, a nice little 2 bedroom on the first floor, 2 bathrooms, a sweet little kitchen with a dishwasher and disposal (we had a non-functioning dishwasher at the apartment we moved from in NY, and no disposal, not that I didn’t act as if we had one, lol 😀 ), a nice little dining area and a nice little living room and a patio. I’ve got to get some sort of outside chair so that I’m not sitting at my desk all night and day, so that I actually get out and get some fresh air.

To be frank, there are other things that have changed. Things I won’t go into here, they are personal. But, I am also working on my health. I’ve recently changed medication for my blood pressure, and added a diabetes medication. The timing for taking the diabetes medication has probably been what I’ve had the most discomfort with, but I think I might have that handled down. I take both blood pressure pills (I’m still taking one of the ones I started taking back in NY, the Losartan, but no longer the Clonidine) first thing in the morning. I have to say, I feel a lot better. And taking my diabetes pill at lunch seems to be a great help, and if I take it at the beginning of lunch, I can get over the irritable, spacey feeling.

Leave a Reply

