Restlessly hopeful – ROW80 Check Up (long overdue)

As I sit here, waiting for the day to go by, I figure a post can’t hurt. It’s been almost 2 months since I wrote anything – let alone anything on here. I have 2 hours until I have to get my son from school (thanks to his choosing a double bass for his instrument for orchestra), so I still have time to go somewhere, get some time alone and just write.

General catch up: I’m almost to the point that the idea that we won’t ever go back to that last place in Fredonia ever again isn’t so shocking. I think that last time I had that feeling was when I was filling out the paperwork for my first real job in 20 years.

On that job – it went quickly. It wasn’t really for me – I wasn’t as great of a fit as I first thought, though in theory I like what their goal is very much. Enough said about that – I’ve moved on. I cried maybe 5 minutes, and by the time I got to the nearest temp agency I had registered at (which is maybe a mile down the street), I was done and ready to get back on the horse. So I went in, made another appointment for an interview with them (which ironically I just cancelled. Again. And I’ll tell you why in a minute, too. The first cancellation was for the first job), and called another agency. He said he might have something, but never called back. And I haven’t called them back yet, either.

Because I have other prospects. It feels good to be like “I might even be able to choose!” The best part – one of those is my dream job. I have an interview there tomorrow, another one for a nearly as dream job on Thursday, and if neither of those work out, I am signed up with yet another job that has training that will be starting next month. I’m excited. Either I end up working where I want a lot quicker than I originally thought I might, or I at least end up working somewhere with good pay!

And my husband is working. His job is through the first temp agency I mentioned, and it’s got a block schedule. So a few days on, a few days off, a few more days on, etc. He’s okay with it, even tho it’s not really what he wants to do (he’s still pretty mystified by that, tho), and he still is eligible for unemployment because he hasn’t been hired on full time.

As for everything else, my Round of Words specifically, here you go:

1. Writing Prompts: Nothing since the last time I posted. But, hey, I’ve been busy, so with my life in flux – do I have an excuse?
2. Networking: Not so much with writing, though I am contemplating joining the Springfield Writers’ Guild. The price for membership is doable – and it would give me some motivation, besides!
3. Personal: I have written a time or two in my journal. It’s also part of this afternoon’s plan.
4. Getting my work out there: Nope.
5. Editing: Nothing. Lame, I know.

I’ve got so many other interests and things that need done, so this is that part of the list:

No need to prepare for Missouri anymore. We’re there (here? Moved).
7. Read something: What Color is My Parachute by Richard Bolles. A suggestion by one of my mentors back in NY.
8. Crafting: Working on one of my scarves.
9. Tarot: Nothing since my friend’s reading. My general perception of the world has changed since I started listening to Abraham Hicks, so that might be part of why I’ve really shied away from things like tarot. Not that I don’t still love it!

DAILY – I’m sleeping a whole lot better now. I’m thinking the biggest reason is because of the reduced exposure to mold that I have now. Also, because there is less stress, and I have become more focused on things. My health isn’t bad – but I seem to have an on again, off again problem with my ear. I might be fighting an ear infection right now, there seems to be a clog. I’m working on that. I mentioned last time I’d like to find more salad mixes than what is at Sam’s Club – I have, actually. Other grocery stores carry Dole mixes, and those are pretty good. So my variety went from 2 up to almost 5. I think I’m losing weight, without much effort, just because of more movement and less food in most of the time.

I really think this was a great change. I’m happy about it. My son isn’t always, and my daughter would love her mom and dad back home. But, I know this was a good change for us, things are getting better, and I really think we can make a better life here.

My knee had started acting up in September. I think it was because I had fallen, and because things sorta slowed down and of course my weight, my knee finally yelled “I’m here.” I wore a brace for a while, but in the last few days I’ve been able to go without it, and not worry about the pain all up and down my right leg. I’m still careful, but I think things are getting better, like I said.

Leave a Reply

