Goal Setting and starting out with ROW80

I really feel that I do so much better with my life when I have some sort of structure. That I hold to. The problem is, I enjoy the spontaneity of life, too. I like feeling productive – having a clean home, clean clothes (this isn’t something that really falls by the wayside terribly. Maybe I don’t do my clothes on the same day every week – a day or two variation here and there, but I’m actually really good about WASHING them, even if I’m not always that great about FOLDING them), clean dishes (not a fan of doing dishes), clean rooms, dinner every day (actually, having others help out with this was a stroke of genius – that might have been the daughter’s idea – and it’s great to see my son grow and explore ideas about dinner, even if it’s just SUPER SIMPLE things! And I do most of the work), save money, make money, write more, make more items….the list of what I’d like to do, which I don’t completely reflect as getting done (for instance, I do get dinner made somehow, clothes washed, ME washed – but I don’t write as much as I’d like or sell as much as I’d like or save money as well as I’d like), is super long.

That ^^^ is the acknowledgement of what I feel. Now I’m going to set out, with the help of my friend’s friends over at A Round of Words in 80 Days, my goals for growth and production for the rest of this round. If you’ve never heard of this before, each round consists of 80 days, starting in January, April, July and October. You state a set of goals, and report twice a week how you’ve done with that. My friend Cindy, at Here, There Be a Writer, suggested it to me several months ago, and since I need structure and accountability, I’ve decided it’s time. It’s for words/writing/creating a written piece, and that will be part of my goals – but my whole life needs some structure for a while, not just my writing, so I’m going to throw that in there, too.

So what am I going for?

First, let’s address the writing. One goal I decided on for this year is to finally get something to publishing level and submit it. I shouldn’t limit it just to my fiction, freelancing is a great way to get your name out there, so I should look into that as well. So, some sort of daily writing is mandatory. Also, I need to look or places to submit my work, and ways to find freelancing work. I have different places I like to get my prompts from, and I have novels to finish as well – there are 5 of them, now, I believe, 4 of them not even on the “stove” at the moment. I’m still working, however sporadically, on my NaNoWriMo novel. And I love the 100 Word Challenge, and it’s got a special place right here on the blog. So, writing goals:

1. Writing Prompts: These included but are not limited to: participating in the weekly 100 Word Challenge prompt AND post it, participating in the weekly Sunday Brunch Prompt on Toasted Cheese, and picking another writing prompt that I like that I have already done or another one I have found.
2. Networking: Post to a writing group or page I’ve liked, visit other people’s pages on challenges, etc.
3. Personal: Write a personal journal entry (on paper, in pen) at least twice a week.
4. Getting my work out there: Look into freelance writing sites and look into writing contests (using writing directed emails, groups, pages, friends’ posts, and cold searching for pointed jobs/genres/contests).
5. Editing: Look at old stories/poems (college and otherwise).

I’ve got so many other interests and things that need done, so this is that part of the list:

6. Preparing for Missouri: Sort old bills and paperwork.
7. Read something: I have piles of books around, so I should pick one up and read it! Reading anything is a good thing, whether it be fact or fiction about writing or the genre(s) I write or not.
8. Crafting: Finish WIPs, make spiral bracelets, make soap savers. Find a runner for Judi.
9. Tarot: Some kind of daily interaction with one of my decks of cards, whether it be a short reading, picking a card, or a longer reading; do a beginning of the year reading, using the 13 Moons reading already decided upon.
9. Cleaning: On at least one day a week (when I’m not working at the store), do 15 minute rounds of cleaning for the majority of the day (this is also partly Preparing for Missouri, as the computer room will feature whatever item I have to work on for that, but it’s also the whole house and often vacuuming).
DAILY – Make it to bed between 11:30 and midnight. This is perhaps the one thing that trips me up – I’m a night owl, I love staying up late, but the more I stay up late, the harder it is for me to do ANYTHING the next day. So my sleep schedule needs to get back on track. Then I’ll have energy to work on weight loss, which I will work harder on once the snow clears (walking on snow does not make my ankles happy).

Well, I think that’s about it for now. I need all this for the accountability.

One comment

Leave a Reply

