Digging myself out isn’t really a problem.

With my novel, or with the weather, either.

I’m not sure if you’re aware, even though I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I happen to live in Western New York. And if you were anywhere near a television over the last week and a half, you’ll know that we were hit with a momentous storm last week. We didn’t get much snow – just a couple feet, compared to Buffalo’s 7 or more. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t take the opportunity to stay snuggled and warm next to my honey for the majority of that time.

The beginning of the storm coincided with our 19th wedding anniversary, so he was taking the night off anyhow. Then he took the last night of the worst of it off, and stayed home.

Over the last 3 days, we’ve had warmer temperatures and some rain, and it’s melted the majority of the snow away. It looks like a typical late March/early April day around here, with snow at the very edges of the paths of snow plows, and most of the rest of the snow melted away.

So, I ended up with 3 days off from writing, 2 more than I anticipated. At the end of that snow blow out, I made it a point to leave the house and go write, if even for a short time. I was able to get roughly 3000 words the first day after the snow storm. Then I did a massive (late night) almost 6000 words, to put me over 40K. I took a trip to Denny’s instead of Dunkin Donuts.

I set a daily word count goal of 2,500 for as many days as I could muster this few days before Thanksgiving. I’m happy to say, I have surpassed that, in part due to the 5,092 words I just belted out tonight (another late night push). It wasn’t that I wanted to write so many tonight – but when I sat down to write, despite how tired I was, I just couldn’t stop, this part of the story was wanting to get out.

Now it is once again nearly 1am. I need to get home and get back to bed!

To see how I’m doing, and a recent excerpt of my story, you can visit my author page at NaNoWriMo:

My Page

Current Word Count: 48,015

Leave a Reply

