Making a Series of Knots – Crochet – A to Z Challenge – Day 3

The title only seems appropriate when I’m talking about Crocheting. My husband (being the Comedy wiz that he is) likes to call it that. And I don’t have as much of a problem with it as you would think. Because, really, when you get right down to it, that’s really all I’m doing. Making a series of knots. You Can really tell when I take apart a project that I have decided to repurpose, like just finished doing, because sometimes there are a lot of knots. I try not to knot the yarn if I have to Change Colors or start a new skein. I learned Russian Joining a few years back, and I won’t go back to all the work of weaving ends in after I’m done with the work. I think it ruins the look of the fabric, besides just being tedious and irritating. The only end that gets weaved in is the one at the very end now.

So, how did Crochet become introduced into my life? Well, when I was 11, I asked my grandma (my dad’s mom) to teach me to knit. She did, but I also saw a Crochet hook in her side table next to her rocking Chair, and asked her if I Could try that, too. I picked it up and, with pretty much no instruction from her (Come to think of it, I’m not 100% sure if she knows how to Crochet or not), I figured out what to do. For several years, into my 20’s, I had pretty much 1 stitch that I would use, other than Chains of Course, and refused to learn patterns. When I was in my early 20’s, a Stay at Home Mom with a small Child, I decided to teach myself how to read a pattern – it opened up a whole new world to me. It turns out, I was doing the basic stitch wrong. Instead of taking up the whole loop of a stitch I was working into, I was only taking up one side. It results in an interesting affect, and I found a book that called it the piano stitch, but it wasn’t the basic thing.

I recently let go of the first full project I did, while a teenager. I was Creative in joining and Changing Colors, and it did look nice, but I decided to toss it because (a) I wouldn’t be able to reuse the yarn and (b) there really wouldn’t be any room when we make our transition after my husband’s job is over.

I’m not sure if I still have the first project I made after I taught myself to read patterns. That doesn’t matter – what really matters is all the amazing things I can do now.

After all the years of Crocheting, I have lots of scrap yarn. And I do mean lots. Here is example of the size of balls of yarn I have had over time – the biggest one I have right now looks about like the biggest one here:

184580_476325655759537_700262582_n

I have a favorite pattern, a baby blanket. Here are two examples:

2014-02-14 21.50.12

110_0185

My favorite project ever has to be the bouquet I made for our vow renewal. I’d like to make more for others, in part to earn money, and in part because it makes such a great keepsake! I also made one, with different Colors, for my friend Cindy at Here, There Be a Writer. Here’s a Close up:

105_6503

These are truly just a small selection of all I do. My Current favorite projects are scrunchies and bunny ears, both patterns which I Came up with myself – scrunchies are a basic idea to work from, I just do them my way. The bunny ears I truly devised the idea of how to make:

scrunchies

bunnyears

Well, that’s about it for now. I will see you again tomorrow, when we see what I decide what I’ll do for D.

Until then….

Leave a Reply

