Running Away Doesn’t Solve Your Problems – 100 Word Challenge – Road 9/8/2013

As the title implies – I’ve learned that running away from your problems doesn’t solve a thing. Then again, I never really considered myself the type to run, I never ran away as a kid, and I don’t really think I ran away as an adult at any time. I’m pretty sure that my problem was perspective, and I think I’m facing that. I have no real choice – some may think I’m not, that I put myself behind a wall – of electronics, of yarn (as in projects) and quite possibly that of body mass and definitely isolation from the rest of the world. But that has never truly been who I am – I may be an introvert, but I’m not completely a loner. I like people. In small doses – but contact with people is good. I’ll let you in more on what I’ve been doing and what I plan to do, but right now it’s more about the characters that are developing in the Clifton Saga.

Because, happily, this is yet another Clifton Saga installment. I like this one – I think it stands on it’s own quite well – though I’ll have to ask you, the reader, if that is true, because for me these installments are very much linked in my head. So, please enjoy this next one, the response to the prompt Road over at Velvet Verbosity’s 100 Word Challenge. I celebrate VV – who has recently also taken a life changing road trip – delving into her new adventure in Vermont. Sadly, it is very much not the case for Sheila, the character in this story – she feels she has a great deal to run away from.

**** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** ****

Listening as the hum of the wheels became a hiss when the rain started, the wet asphalt’s smell curling up to her nostrils, Sheila realized she couldn’t escape the loneliness.

She was done with her cycles – sleeping and working for two weeks, then cleaning the house top to bottom while the boys were in school during her days off, some rooms multiple times a day, until she was exhausted.

Ready for a change, she packed her van full and set off across the country.

She had the promise of a number in her pocket, but worry still emptied her heart.

Leave a Reply

