I’m here – and a belated 100 Word Challenge entry

This one can’t be counted in the normal mix of things, but I do have an entry for Velvet Verbosity‘s Soil 100 Word Challenge. It took this one a while to sift out, but I like it quite a bit and I think it captures what was in my head when I first sat down to write one. This is yet another Clifton Saga one, as will be the next.

I will be working on the one for Road tomorrow. We’ve been back from vacation nearly 2 weeks now, and while I’ve had meetings (for the abbreviated newsletter for my church, as well as the auction for the church), and there was the small hiccup with my son’s strep throat and subsequent seizure, as well as dealing with things with my daughter’s health (anxiety, which we’re going to nip in the bud)…I have to say, there are times I feel very lazy. I don’t know if it really is my blood pressure or possibly sleep apnea (we’ll see as I rescheduled my sleep study for the 19th), or not getting enough sleep period, or destressing – or what, but I do agree there are times I am lazier than I should be, and I don’t need others to point it out.

Anyhow, after the asterisks you will be delighted by last week’s 100 Word Challenge entry 🙂 Enjoy! (some kind of border has to be used to signify this. I’ll be thinking about making….and looking for one to modify, maybe)

**** **** **** **** **** **** ****

Sheila’s house smelled of bleach, making her head swim as she lay on the kitchen floor. Pain traced the pink tendrils she scrubbed into her arms every day. She had to get up before the floor soiled her again.

Phillip found her when he came home, dropping his equipment bag in the mudroom before kneeling next to her.

“Mom, what’s wrong?”

“Nothing,” Sheila pushed herself up, pausing to stop her head’s spinning.

“You okay?”

“I’m fine,” she said, swatting his hand away and standing.

Gathering her strength on the sink’s edge, she caught her reflection in the window and cringed.

2 thoughts on “I’m here – and a belated 100 Word Challenge entry

    1. Silly girl – if you want to know what’s up with this woman – you need to look back at the previous stories. All I know is that this is after her husband left, but before she did. I love this story, the characters, and it’s ad-hock/flashback feel. The story is definitely not told linearly, it’s a perfect example of the fluidity of time 😉

Leave a Reply

