Finishing things off – 30 Day Challenges – Knit, Crochet, and Tarot – Days 25 – 30

Looks like I’ve taken just enough time since my last post for this that the ones I have to do are all the ones left. So I’m doing Days 23 – 30 now. Enjoy my answers (I have yet to look at the questions, so as I write this they are as foreign to me as they are to you!)!

Knit and Crochet

Day 25: Do you have a crocheting/knitting book or a place where you keep patterns, ideas, size measurements? Post a picture of it!

Nope, it’s just all in my head.

Day 26: Have you ever been a part, or wanted to be a part of a crochet/knit-a-long? What was it? If not, why?

I was once part of a crochet-a-thon, as part of charity drives when I was on crochetlist through Yahoo! Groups, but I don’t remember what we made. I’m sure I was part of a crochet-a-long too, but again, it’s been so long…

Day 27: How do you acquire most of your yarn? Online retailers, local yarn shops, swaps, or large chain craft stores? What’s your favorite?

I’m acquired the majority of my yarn over the years through my grandma. Of course, now I buy the majority of it at WalMart ( 😦 ) or someplace like that (JoAnns, etc) and a few select yarns from my favorite LYS.

Day 28: Do you do any other crafts besides crocheting/knitting? What are they, and did learning to crochet come before or after learning these other crafts?

I knit, crochet, and occasionally cross-stitch. I learned to knit first (though I had to eventually teach myself to cast on) from my grandmother when I was 11. Then I taught myself to crochet, and I guess basically taught myself how to cross-stitch, though my first bunch of materials for that were from an older cousin.

Day 29: Do you have any tips, or things that you’ve learned from crocheting/knitting?

Don’t be discouraged if you’re gauge or tension isn’t right at first, or you don’t get it on your first try. As with EVERYTHING – we all had to start somewhere. Don’t look at a veteran’s work and go “I can’t do it like that” and feel bad, because they had to start out just like you, where they didn’t know the stitches and where their first pieces were so unbelievable loose or tight that….yeah. I didn’t know how to read a pattern for at least 10 before I finally decided to teach myself, because I wanted to expand my horizons. Then I learned how to PROPERLY create a stitch, and that there were a whole lot more stitches and combinations than I had taught myself. Heck, I may have known how to knit for 26 years, but the tension on my purl stitches is still HORRENDOUS!!! (which is why I do take any opportunity I can to PRACTICE that and get better at it!)

Day 30: What’s your name on Ravelry? If you don’t have a Ravelry account, why?

angelgal3176 (I opened it about the same time I switched here, it seems). I’m not incredibly active on there, but I’m there at least!

Tarot

25. What was the most dramatic/meaningful reading you ever did? (Not necessarily the most accurate.)

I would say one I referenced before, that was for a friend and I felt so jittery that I acted funny and he pointed out, was the most dramatic. Also, there was one before some events last May, I believe, that ended up foretelling what happened some. I would say it was meaningful and dramatic, tho, BECAUSE it was so accurate. It all turned out well.

26. Have you ever regretted a particular reading, either for yourself or another?

The one I just mentioned.

27. Do you have a special time and/or place that you use your Tarot? If so, do you reserve the deck specifically for that purpose?

I tend to do the readings in the evening, but they can be done at any time during the day. Mostly it’s just when I feel drawn to. I used to sit in a particular place in my living room to do the reading, but now I try my best to face one particular direction (tho changing it might be a bad idea right now, it might help the accuracy and how crazy it’s been driving me that readings for myself don’t quite feel right), and keep my back against a wall so I can draw in the energy and information from doors and windows in the room.

28. Does anyone you know not agree with your Tarot practices?

I’m not sure about that.

29. Do you have a Tarot mentor? Who are they (in relation to you) and how do they inspire you?

My friend, Cindy, who I’ve mentioned before has done reading for me, is maybe the closest I have to a Tarot mentor. Her strength with her cards is probably what inspires me the most.

30. Do you practice any other forms of divination? If so, what is it, and do you use them alongside the Tarot as to gain more information and insight or as something separate entirely?

I don’t do any other forms of divination, though I had thought about using a pendulum, reading a crystal ball (how cliche – more so than the cards) or using a pensive (like Dumbledore in Harry Potter. Just looks interesting – but I think a lot anyhow, so what would be the difference?). I’m also interested in astrology, numerology and I used to have a book on reading palms, though I never read it (either way – the book or obviously tried to read palms).

And with that, I’m done with these challenges. Certainly took me long enough, but it was a bit interesting. I should start another challenge, this time with my writing, and very specific, so I’m doing it every day.

Leave a Reply

