Participation Wanted – Trifecta Week 82

As promised, here’s another installment of the story started in my entry for VV’s 100 Word Challenge this week. Not only have both of them been approved by some very important friends, but my teenage daughter and her best friend.

We get another glimpse into Britney’s story – if you haven’t guessed by reading the other one yet, it’s the story of her Enlightenment – her part in the Enlightenment of all. I know this is going to be a book, and I’m looking forward to writing it, as it’s going to be the culmination of a lot of things I have been studying and reading and just…..just a lot of things over the past year and a half for me. Everyone can see and hear the excitement I’m feeling over this when I tell them (and I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to pull it off! For some, that’s the hard part! I just make it look easy 😉 )

This is my entry into this week’s Trifecta – a fun little game of trying to fit some pretty big ideas into 33 – 333 words. It can be done my friend, and quite eloquently by others as good as or better than myself.

So here is the next segment of Britney’s story:

Britney returned to her dorm, having wasted another evening waiting to study with Seth. Tonight he hadn’t shown, and a librarian had to wake her. She checked the corkboard in the lobby where announcements were posted. Peeking out from under a colorful poster for the glee club’s latest recital was a plain white index card:

Enlightenment
It wants your participation
Henry Room 314
Saturday, 8 PM

**** **** **** ****

The whispers had grown more intensive, now coming when she was awake.
Then there was the card.
So here she was, in Room 314 of the Henry Center, looking at a mixed handful of people. Who looked at her with the same question on their face that was on her mind – a question she bet they couldn’t put into words either. A question to which she felt the whispers had an answer.

**** **** **** ****

“My name’s Britney,” she said shyly after the cute boy from Biology 101 had recognized her and waved her over.
He offered his hand, which she took after a moment’s pause. “I know, we have Biology together. Reese.”
“Hi, Reese,” she said, surprised she could talk around the knot in her throat.
He watched her as she looked around the room.
“What is this, some kind of club?” She asked after she considered the different kinds of people in the room – no uniform characteristics that really tied them together, just a collection of people in a room.
Reese laughed, his chuckle a quick amused breath. “I guess you could say it’s a club, but not any I’m used to. So far as I can tell from talking and listening to the others, we’ve all been hearing whispers talking about the Enlightenment, and how staying in the dark requires our participation.”
Her eyes opened wide.
Before she could say anything, he nodded.
“You, too.”

Teaser: There will be another one, but I have to write that one yet!

Don’t forget to head over to Trifecta and check out what everyone else is doing!

5 comments

    • You do not know how much that comment has me nearly LOLing! The cute ones do always get you….but this is NOT a bible thumper’s club, nor is it a cult, I can promise you that.

    • 🙂 Thank you! I promise there will be more – I KNOW this will be a book, the story is RIGHT THERE 🙂

Leave a Reply

