Reunited and it feels so good? – 100 Word Challenge – Sainted

Here, as promised, is the second entry for VV’s 100 Word Challenge that I was able to bang out today. Titles have to be the second hardest thing for me when writing (the first, being able to come up with new and interesting names for characters, that fit who I want them to be), so do excuse me if my titles are ever lackluster. I try, but sometimes the most original I can come up with is the description of what I’m doing in the post. :-\

What’s really great, is this one also fits very well into the Clifton Saga.

The word, again, is Sainted:

“You should be sainted,” Lee told Sheila, finishing their first dinner together in years.

She turned from the fridge, wine in hand, and smiled bewilderedly. “Why do you say that?”

“You had to deal with Phillip AND my kid. You must have the patience of a saint.”

Sheila laughed, placing the wine bottle on the table after refilling their glasses.

“Phillip Senior was a hard man to live with, but Phillip Junior is an angel. It was for love.”

Pain crossed his face. “Did he ever want to be called Lee?”

A tear slid down her cheek. “All the time.”

Now, whatever else you do, head over to VV’s site and give some reader lovin’ to the other entrants in the challenge!

6 comments

    • Thank you for enjoying the story. If you enjoyed this, I’d encourage you to check out all the rest of the episodes – I don’t know if you saw it, but there is a tab on the right that has a listing of all the rest of them, in order of appearance. This story line has come out in sort of a scattered fashion, and I enjoy how some of them are essentially flashbacks, and have left it like that.

  1. even though this is a short segment of the whole you’ve given enough information that the reader can easily follow what is happening in this story

    • Thank you! It’s great to hear feedback – I encourage you, of course, to read the rest of the story. It’s been fun writing it!

    • Thank you! It’s great to hear feedback – I encourage you, of course, to read the rest of the story. It’s been fun writing it!

  2. Yep, titles are hard. Sometimes, though, I come up with a great title, but can’t come up with the words needed to make it a piece, so there’s that.

    I agree with Carrie, this piece was able to stand on its own without knowing the fuller story, which of course is part of the challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

