30 Day Challenge – Knit, Crochet, Tarot and Writing – Day 10

We’re finally in the double digits! Today is Day 10! Enjoy!

Knit and Crochet

Do you have a favorite pattern or designer?

I can’t say I have a favorite designer for either knit patterns or crochet, but I do have a favorite pattern at least for knitting. I’ve mentioned it often. It’s the Wingspan pattern. A friend, fellow congregant at church and the owner of my favorite LYS (she’s all 3 of those things) is the only other person locally that I know who has done the pattern – and it’s just as mesmerizing to see it done up close as it is to see the FO’s on the pattern page on ravelry! Of course, I already knew that having done some myself, but…it’s nice to see someone else’s work as well!

Tarot

What card best represents you/your personality (or, is most often pulled to represent you in a spread)?

The card I’ve always felt represented me is Empress, a card from the Major Arcana, in the deck I use, Winged Spirit Tarot. This is why – it’s title in the booklet is “Maternal Nurturing”. I am a loving, giving person, very much to a fault. I love my kids and, like my mother before me, they are the center of my world. That can be carried too far, as is the warning in this card. Sophia, the angel in this card, was so enamoured with her children, that she neglected her job as an angel, contemplating the divine, and fell. She, however, was redeemed (according to the description, again, I haven’t looked into these as much as I could, but I may one day), and was returned to her place in heaven. So, while the mother may fall and the children may be smothered – there is hope to return to our heavenly place, whatever you consider that.

Writing

What do you want to be remembered for?

One thing I’d like to be remembered for is being a parent who really loved their kids. I make mistakes, we all do as parents, I’m not perfect, but I do love them as much as any person possibly can love their kids. I make mistakes, but they will always know that their mommy loves them. I find their mental well-being the most important thing to protect – but again, I’m not perfect, and there are places I fail.

Over and above that, I want to be remembered for my work. My writing, specifically (so why I’ve fallen so far behind on it, I really can’t tell you. Time to get my butt moving, eh?). I don’t envy those writers I look up to, I aspire to be them. Like who? Well, like Hemingway, like Stephen King, like Martin Luther King, Jr. – that’s just a small bit of the authors whose work I admire incredibly. I want my name to be famous. I want, more than that, my WORK to be famous. I want my work to matter, to make a difference in just one person’s life, but if I can manage to get into many people’s minds, make many people think and question and even reconsider if they have to, then I think my job will be done.

You can also find this on tumblr!

Having an annoying day on the computer with a mouse pad with no scroll…but I’ll manage, LOL!

Stay tuned, I plan to do a 100 Word Challenge in the next couple days as well!

Leave a Reply

