Trifecta/100 Word Challenge – One of Many Team Member A’s Submissions

As I promised in my last post, I’ve got my submission for the Trifecta/100 Word (VelvetVerbosity) Challenge written and cleared by my team member. If you’re too lazy to click on the link provided, a short description – after registering at Velvet Verbosity’s site, with her 100 Word Challenge, 2 person teams are picked by the crew at Trifecta (with the assistance of the snazzy Random.org site). Team Member A (in this case, it would be me – I’m tickled pink, since my first initial is, after all, A, to be Team Member A. Of Team One! [!] Much less pressure than I had thought it would be!) has to write a response of 33 (b/c of the “trifecta” component – you know, 3’s) – 100 (b/c of the 100 Word Challenge component) words based on the prompt, within 41 hours (can’t tell ya how they got to that number – the other 2 were obvious). Then the little linkz thing on Trifecta closes, and one of them opens on either Trifecta or VV’s site, and Team Member B gets to do the same. They actually suggested we show our team member our prompt – I did, she likes it, she’s got her gears running – can’t wait to see what she’s got in store for us. She’s pretty damn good. Who is she? Draug. Check her out! 🙂

I know, I promised a short description, and that was probably longer than theirs. But without further ado – here’s my answer to their prompt (you have to stop being lazy, if you want to see their prompt, go take a look at their site! I’m already doing enough clicking just linking you there!)

She tossed the test in the garbage. Another month with the same result.

He leaned in the bathroom doorway.

“Well?” he asked sleepily.

“Nope,” she replied, dejected.

He came up and hugged her from behind.

Turning, she buried her face in his bare chest so he didn’t see the tears.

“Maybe next month,” he said, stroking her back.

Now it was hard to hide her pain as the sobs shook her body. He tightened his arms around her.

“No,” she said, “not this month, not next month, not next year. There won’t be another baby. The fertility treatments don’t work.”

Okay, again – go check out Trifecta, 100 Word Challenge/Velvet Verbosity and Draug. And all the other contestants, too. Really, clicking on stuff isn’t that hard….

Happy Reading!

16 comments

  1. Need moar linkz 😉

    This is a wonderful start and I am going to do my best to do you proud!! I’m going to work on the next part right now so that it’s ready to go for your approval ASAP! 😀 *dashes off*

    • Thank you! I had a friend in mind when I had this – there was a little more to it, but b/c of space I had to edit those important parts out. But here’s Part 2!

  2. A great, sad beginning. And holy cow–I’m impressed with your linking skills! We could use you around these parts!! Thanks for helping us celebrate our anniversary!

Leave a Reply

