Best and Worst of the Year – A look back at 2011

I know I haven’t been around much lately. I’d say I’ve been busy, but to be honest, I think I wasted most of the year. I might have a good excuse – one of the worst moments in a person’s life happened this year: I lost my mom in January. I wanted to write a deep, clarifying, moving post on my mom, what she meant to me, and what life means, and all that crap, but frankly, the critics in my head often get the best of me.

But that’s not to say that my 2011 didn’t end up amazing. In a lot of ways, I think I grew last year. For one, losing mom meant that I was able to relax some and just be ME finally. Make my own decisions – because there are a lot of places my dad and I agree – do my own things.

The biggest, most interesting new thing in my life is that I joined the Occupy Movement. That’s right, we have our own little group of Occupy members/supporters right here in our little village of Fredonia. If you want to check us out, go to OccupyFredonia.org. We only bodily occupied the town square for 2 weeks, as the end of the semester was quickly coming and many of our members are college students, but we have big plans for educating the masses, as it goes. Our 2 weeks of intense, daily, 24 hour occupation was enlightening, exciting, sometimes slow, but always interesting. I would have loved to have spent every moment there, but the problem with being part of the 99% is that many of us have jobs or family members who have jobs that pay the bills and that we can’t let go of, or children as well whom we have to take care of. The most interesting day – after the weekend filled with a march to campus and a rally (which, OMG, I actually SPOKE at. Click on the link. It directs you to the video, on YouTube, produced by a local film company, of the rally. I’m towards the end. Only about 30 seconds of my actual speech, but it proves I WILL get up in front of people and talk! Once in a while.). If you want a different look at our occupation, you can also look at the Raphy Report’s video on us as well. The college paper has been very kind to us, including an article that I was quoted in for the rally and the march; the Observer not so much – but, hey, no matter what they said, I got my picture in the paper, right?

But the best part of the Occupy movement: meeting the new people I have, because the hearts and minds of these people are SIMPLY AMAZING; and getting to know those I had known before better. The core people are just amazing. Further expounding on Occupy will have to be set aside for another time; I just can’t tell you how blessed I feel to be connected to these amazing people – and not just the members of my local Occupy, but to the movement as a whole.

I have goals, still. I’ve got plans. I know 2012 is going to be simply amazing. I’ve posted goals here before, which I didn’t always live up to. I know I’ve got the ability to help birth my own amazing dreams. I believe there’s something here, in the movement, in each of us, the evolution of human kind, that’s going to allow all our dreams to come true and is gonna be simply amazing.

My goals, my biggest dreams:

Publishing a fiction and non-fiction (freelancing of some kind) work
Losing weight, getting health together (reading up on and understanding PCOS)
Getting out of this apartment

Maybe get a job in a library, too….but, I’ve already started the lists of what I have to do to achieve my goals. That’s for me to know, not you 🙂

Best of luck for your new year 🙂 Last thing to leave you with, a short video of one of my favorite parts of everyday Occupying, often just on the weekends, but it’s a sound I will now forever identify with the movement and our time in the Commons:

(Is it just me, or do I use “Simply Amazing” too much?)

One comment

Leave a Reply

