100 Word Challenge – Distance – 04/23/2011

Latest of my entries for the 100 Word Challenge at Velvet Verbosity‘s site. It also seems to be a continuation of the Clifton Saga!

Lee sat down on the bed next to her, their hands in his lap. The years between this and the first moment Sheila knew she was in love with him fell away.

Lee touched her cheek, wiping away her tears with his thumb.

“I said the last night we were together, no distance can separate us.” He placed his hand on his heart. “Whether I was fighting in the rice fields in Vietnam, the VietCong all around; at college or sitting in a courtroom, you never left my mind. I’ve always loved you.”
This isn’t the end, it’s the beginning.

4 comments

  1. Thank you. This story started off kinda sad, but it looks like it’s becoming very upbeat. I had pondered the story of this family before, and wondered in what direction it was going to go—it was hairy waiting for her, lying there in the hospital in a coma as she was (yes, a lot of this was lived in my head, I have to get out what isn’t down…somewhere…), but I’m happy to see Sheila and Lee’s relationship is on the mend. I hope Phillip gets back out of the picture, but I can’t make any promises. He seems to be the biggest antagonist in the story!

Leave a Reply

