Day 17 in the life of a novel writing author

I’ve been around, I just haven’t been around here. I’ve got things to do, like write a novel and take tests and do homework and suffer a weekend of MAJOR tooth aches. 😦 That last part wasn’t fun, the rest were.

Of course, with writing the novel, it’s starting to come a lot slower. I think it started last week, because even though I was doing research (on dresses, and hats, and asking the person who originally gave me the idea for what he wanted in the book), it was starting to feel stale. It’s halfway through the month, maybe it will pick up again in the next week or so.

Our counselor told me that it’s bad luck to call a book a novel before it’s published, until then you should call it a manuscript. Well, I guess then I know several thousands of people who are going to suffer from a serious bout of bad luck. I think he only said that because no one picked up his book. Oh well…I’d love to be published, but if all I do is write, I’m okay with that too. I know I have an amazing talent, but sometimes I just don’t feel as if I’m going to be able to measure up.

I know I can measure up okay when it comes to grades. I got 2 tests back yesterday. The first (American Constitutional Law) was only 1 point lower than the test before. The other, I didn’t find out the whole grade, just how I did on the multiple choice (Intro to Criminal Justice) — 29 out of 30. And I was the top person on the first page. Boooya!

Well, I have another class to get to, and I want to get there so I get my seat at the back of the room. I don’t like sitting anywhere else.

Oh yeah, and tomorrow is my 14th wedding anniversary. Seems like forever ago now.

One comment

Leave a Reply

