100 Word Challenge – Place

As I promised, here is my entry for Velvet Verbosity’s 100 Word Challenge for Place.

I worked hard on it, I got the idea nearly as soon as I read it. My inspiration came from a poem I wrote in one of my first Creative Writing classes, which came from an experience I had once when I had a tooth pulled and got put under Nitric Oxide (I didn’t want to have to go through the heck of getting a tooth pulled and feeling the dull pull despite the Novocaine…if I thought my first wisdom tooth was bad, I just had to wait until I got one in front of my bottom right wisdom tooth pulled after I had P. I felt the *snap* of the nerve, the Novocaine had started to take so long to take effect by that time. I didn’t get numb for the root canal that was first attempted on that tooth until I was walking out the door…it took a WHILE.

Without further ado…

I always thought I was going someplace.

Now it looks like there is no place that we go.

I feel only warmth.

This isn’t so bad, at least it’s SOME place.

I don’t feel what I thought I’d feel.

What if this is where we’re not supposed to go?

What will my family think when they find out I’m not there, waiting?

It’s definitely warm here.

It’s not your time.

I’ll be whole if I’m with that voice. Who’s there?

No! I don’t want to go! I just got here. I want to come with you, not go back!

2 comments

  1. Oops, I thought I had already commented here, but I guess not! 😛

    Interesting piece. Is it meant to be a near death piece? I got confused by the intro about going under at the dentist. I’ve always been interested in the commonality of near-death stories. Makes you wonder.

Leave a Reply

