You know, if you could hear my thoughts…

You’d hear a few off color words, but none really all that bad…just the beginnings of them.

Yet another week has gone by without me writing any blogs posts. Maybe more. You know, I didn’t really check before I clicked on the “Add New” selection under the “Posts” heading.

I’m not feeling much like talking right now. Well. Like blogging. Or writing of any kind, for that matter. I just want to sleep today. Can’t. Will soon, since it’s almost bedtime. But I only got in a few extra minutes of sleep today. Yesterday I didn’t go to bible study 😦 because I knew that no one would be up by the time P woke up. T fell asleep (even though I left a note reminding him), D was out cold and didn’t wake up until at least noon. Oh well. I ended up doing a little extra sleeping instead. Last night I got to bed at a decent time (before midnight, wow!), and felt somewhat rested by this morning. And I no longer won’t go to church, unless it’s really urgent. When my in laws come out later in the month, I’m going to church—unless we’re not in town (which is next to improbable, but still)—and hopefully drag at least my step-mom-in-law along. Hopefully T will go along with me too.

I’ve spent most of my time when I am on the computer, on Facebook. But I haven’t forgotten you all! No, I actually took some pictures the other day of some things I’ve been working on while not on here. So, here’s the skirt I had to shorten for my mom’s roommate:

(Anyhow, as I started to tell you about last night…)

Skirt folded up, before shortening.
Skirt folded up, before shortening.

Practicing the stitch that will go into fixing it…I had to ask my mom to help me get better at this stitch because I’d never done it before. I took one look at the skirt and the skirt’s fabric and realized I’d have to do it by hand. I used some waste fabric from the fitted sheet that I’m making for P. There’s a matching quilt that I’ve already done up—I was surprised my sewing machine was able to handle it:

Practice piece
Practice piece

Finally, the ends of the finished product. I didn’t show it here, but I tried to hide it as much as possible as the “right” side of the skirt, something easier for the “thick” end of the hem than for the “thin” end of the hem:

Finished skirt ends...can't see the hem itself so much here :-|
Finished skirt ends...can't see the hem itself so much here 😐

I think this is the kind of woman I’m wanting to become. Traditional old time values, handy with a needle and thread, good at cooking and baking. I aspire to be a Proverbs 31 woman in my best understanding of the passage.

Otherwise, I’ve also been finishing up stuff. Here’s the guardian angel kit I’m now finally backstitching (and despising!):

Guardian Angel Kit nearly finished!
Guardian Angel Kit nearly finished!

Mom and dad’s afghan’s finally done. Now I can wash it, along with the original Rosa’s Afghan:

Mom and dad's afghan...needs washed now!
Mom and dad's afghan...needs washed now!

In just days, my in laws will be here. Hope the place doesn’t look too bad for their arrival!

Leave a Reply

