Saturday 9: Liar Liar – 02/28/09

sat9logo4

1. What is the last “white” lie that you told?

Last night I was talking to my mom about my sister and certain things in her life. I told her I couldn’t put a finger on the reason why I sorta wonder about something, though I didn’t come right out and say what it was. That’s not the white lie—the white lie is that I KNOW the reason, I was just sworn to secrecy about it, so I can’t tell my mom. As it’s (supposedly) been dealt with, it’s no longer my business to tell her. When it was happening, mom was further away. But, really, I don’t think it was ever my business to expose that fact. So I don’t. 😐

2. Can you forgive a liar?

Depends. If they are lying about something trivial…where they put something, hiding something, something something…that won’t get punished (if it’s my kids…of course there’s ways to punish, say, T too, but still) as severely. But if it’s something that compromises my security. Say if T has an affair and hides it for a good long time. That’s one of the few things I will up and leave him about. That and hitting me. Neither of which it seems he has done. Good for him. 🙂

3. Do you tend to exaggerate or underestimate?

No. I try very hard to tell it JUST like it is. Sometimes I do, but most of the time, what you see and hear is what you get. And that’s all there is to it.

4. Do you hold a grudge?

No. My mom does, but I don’t see the point in holding on to all that negativity for very long. I actually try my best to get rid of it.

5. What’s the biggest lie you’ve ever told?

It’s a lie of omission (see the Classification portion here). There are certain parts of the beginning of my life with T (notably, things we did when we were still in the Army, before we got married) that I’ve never told my mom about. She’s the only person I lie to and this is the worst of the few I’ve told. I didn’t lie to her when I was outed by someone near where I smoked when I was 14 (by the time I was confronted, I had quit), and most other things were just as trivial.

6. Are there times that you feel that it is okay to lie?

Mostly, no.

7. Did you ever end a relationship because of lies?

No.

8. Do you think you can tell when someone is lying to you?

I’m not totally sure about that. I think that the persons I’d be most worried about lying to me can’t really do it—T has a hard time not telling me things, most of the time, and I’ll root it out of him and D if I’m suspicious. P doesn’t have the ability to really tell the difference yet, but small children are more likely to just tell it like it is, so I’m not worried.

9. Have you been caught lying?

No.

But, then, it occurs to me you really wouldn’t know the truthfulness of any of my answers or the answers of anyone else who participates in this week’s meme, so I don’t really see the point of it. Here on the net, we can be anything or anyone we want to be. And no one else would ever know. I think the majority of the people are pretty truthful, but what do I know?

One comment

Leave a Reply

