Haiku Friday – 1/23/09 – Friday mornings…

haiku3

deep midnight musings
create some unique personal
soul revelations

quick experiments
create delicious surprises-
crisis averted

items get ticked
off of this my first week’s quick list
God serving warm fuzzy

morning dawns, spirits
rise, it feels good to finally
have one more good day

Did I ever mention Fridays are my favorite days? I was born on a Friday, I think that’s why (actually, I KNOW that’s a big reason why).

Today’s been a good day. Despite turning in at 1:30am, and getting up for the first time at 6:41am, I feel pretty rested. I did go back in for a few more zz’s between then and 8, when I officially woke up, so I would guess that helps. And I think I know a Big Guy who is smiling, because I looked at the clock when I went to bed and said “wow, it would be nice to get up nice and early, so I can get a good start to my day. But it will probably be kinda hard, considering at 8am I’ll only have about 5 1/2 or 6 hours of sleep…” And who made sure I was up? He (the big He, not P or T, who fell asleep about the time he moved into the living room, to the couch, just as I was getting up) did. 🙂 How kind Pop is (no, really, He is…I’ll explain why in a minute 🙂 )

I’ve actually been able to get some stuff done too! Go me! I didn’t put it on my list yesterday, as I didn’t really know that a few of the items I’ve done so far NEEDED to be on my list so fast, but…I made 3 phone calls—(1) the 1st call to dad to remind him he’s coming over to watch P so we can go to T’s co-worker’s viewing hours this evening (I knew I had this), (2) a call to the Penny Saver so I could see when the tax forms become available, so that we could complete what I made in call (3), to H&R Block to set up an appointment. These dictate some things I’m going to be adding to my Working Willingly list for next week. Then I went on to clean up our bedroom, collecting clothes (always a big thing, huh? Good thing I don’t have the problem some people you see on tv have with their clothes, that get the help from like Clean Sweep or something like that—the clothes on the floor are ones that get used frequently, as well as the small pile on the dresser and the ones in T’s box :-D). That means I’ll have to set about washing them. And I’m going to have to start dinner at about 4 (which will mean throwing some chicken leg quarters in the oven, because I know it’s too late now to put them in the crockpot) so that we can eat before getting D to Girl Scouts at about 6. Where I will have to pay what we owe for the first few months 😐 Hopefully T will get up before then! 🙂 He should, he went to sleep at the right time.

Finally, though, to my midnight spiritual musings mentioned above. I wasn’t going to turn the computer back on after this, though I wanted to share it (since I’m into sharing the spiritual stuff too. You know, a big piece of advice that Steve Almond gave when he talked to my Creative Writing class in college was that it didn’t really matter if you were basing the characters you were writing on your personal experiences. What matters is that you are true to the feelings, and as long as you are true to the feelings, that will come through [basically that, I’m not quoting directly]. So, I could talk about this in total anonymity, set up some other blog or something to share my thoughts on this….but it’s better, I think, for you to see it here, in my personal diary blog, because it shows that it’s all a part of life. Which, your spiritual and secular [guess that’s the best way to put it] life shouldn’t be separate, because He provided you with both, and your decisions should for the most part be informed by both. Primarily how you feel your moral standard, in my case my Christian faith, dictates how you should act. Some people just don’t have their moral standard centered on the right thing. I prefer, though, to “lead” [who follows me again?] by example, not by shoving it down others throats. 🙂 … ) Here’s my thoughts as I wrote them out, to post this morning:

Despite the late hour, after I turned off the computer [last night], I picked up my Women of Faith Study Bible (which I got with Christmas money [have I mentioned that before?]) and decided to do some reading. Well, I didn’t read from where (I think) I left off, but I did once again ponder the thought triggered by one of the “Study” parts of the book—the one which speaks of Eve’s discontent [yeah, I’m not out of Genesis yet…].

I’ve never hid the fact that I am unhappy where we live. There are too many things (and people) which displease me. When I first read [this particular study guide] and saw the correlation I didn’t have the time to ponder it because P had to be woke up, as it was morning and we had to go to MOPS. This time I grabbed 2 more index cards and wrote it out (on 1, the other is this post. They’re unlined [makes it easier to use the space my way, and fit as much writing in as possible. All notebooks are in the living room.])

I asked my self these questions: (1) What is at the root of my discontent with this house and/or our lives? (2) Is it temporary? (3) Solvable? (4) Justified?

Then I checked the back of the book for Content (went looking for discontent first, but I felt the positive was more appropriate to focus on. Plus, I found it first, it’s late, I’m lazy.). And my answers, including an updated recipe for Food 4 Thought, reveled themselves in Hebrews 12:14-28 (especially 25-28 ) and Hebrews 13:5-6.

Hebrews 12: 25-28

25See to it that you do not refuse him who speaks. If they did not escape when they refused him who warned them on earth, how much less will we, if we turn away from him who warns us from heaven? 26At that time his voice shook the earth, but now he has promised, “Once more I will shake not only the earth but also the heavens.” 27The words “once more” indicate the removing of what can be shaken—that is, created things—so that what cannot be shaken may remain.
28Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe.

Hebrews 13:5-6

5Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,
“Never will I leave you;
never will I forsake you.”
6So we say with confidence,
“The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.
What can man do to me?”

I pondered the reasons why I shouldn’t be filled with discontent with our situation. [taken from the notecard with my thoughts on the matter] Nothing on earth is perfect (or forever). Our situation isn’t optimum (or permanent). Still, we have: a roof over our heads; food on the table; general harmony in the house and with most others; clothes on our backs; contact with the rest of the world [hi! That means you guys!]; freedom from most addictions [food and computer things not included here 😐 ]; and, one way or another, the ability to change our situation.

Not to mention God, Jesus and each other. He has not left us, and no matter how bad I think it is in a moment, there is nothing so terrible a person or our own mistakes or this house can do to us that God can’t help us out of or through.

Matching this up with my Working Willingly journey, I now have something to focus my prayer time on. and verses to carry with me [once I put them on the index card I prepared]. Nice jumping off point, I think.

4 comments

  1. What a great post, for a great day! I found you via This Eclectic Life, and I’ve linked back to you on my own “Only the Good” post, hope that’s okay!

    Have a wonderful weekend!!

Leave a Reply

