Monday Morning Meme 1/19/09

mondaymorning2

1. You have just been hired to clean your own home, what is your first complaint?

Hmmm….I’d complain about all the stains. But why complain? Someone’s starting to pay me to do what I do (or don’t do) anyhow! Of course, that brings to mind a story Pastor B told about how a guy got some kids to quit beating on trash cans….

2. Are you able to ignore a ringing telephone? How often do you allow a ringing phone to go to voice mail? Do you answer your cell phone, out in public, every time it rings? Or do you silence it and get back to it when you’re in a more private area? How often would you say you’re on your home phone? Your cell phone? Do you like talking on the phone or do you view it as a necessary communication tool?

Uh….Yes….most of the time, as it’s mostly creditors…I can let my phone ring, even out in public, but I’ll set it to vibrate not to disturb others anyhow…but, yeah, I’ll get back to it later too….or I’ll just go ahead and answer it, depends on who it is….I talk on the phone at least once a day. Maybe an hour each day…we don’t currently have cell phones….I used to like talking on the phone, but now it’s more of just a necessity.

3. When did you last go for a bike ride? Do you own a bike? Do you encourage your children to ride bikes? Given the most popular New Year’s resolution of losing weight, would you consider putting bicycle riding as one of your exercise options? Why or why not?

It’s been at least 10 years since I rode a bike. I still have the one I got when I was 16….it looks at least 16 years old (since it is, but hasn’t been taken care of well). My kids have bikes…well, not D right now because someone stole it back in November (and I haven’t reported it yet 😦 ). I wouldn’t put riding a bike outside on my options list, but if I could get a stationary one, maybe.

4. If you had to name a smell that always makes you nostalgic, what would it be? What sorts of memories does the smell evoke?

I’m sure there is one, but I think songs bring the past back more for me. There’s a Kenny Chesney song, “I Go Back”…the strongest is “Bohemian Rhapsody” by Queen…it reminds me of a friend, whose death anniversary is just a week and a half away. It’s got a funny story with it, but that’s for another day. Smells just don’t trigger the feelings the way that songs do.

Leave a Reply

