Satuday 9 – 1/17/09

sat9logo2

Saturday 9: The First Apartment

1. Where had you moved from?

My parents house.

2. Describe your first apartment.

It was the first floor (since I was 5, and we moved out of the first apartment my family had here in town, I haven’t lived in anything but a first floor apartment, when I’ve lived in an apartment. I don’t want to have to worry about going up and down stairs often.) apartment, on the right. There were 4 apartments in the building, and it was the rear building of the group of apartment buildings on the left. It wasn’t a big apartment complex, just a grouping of something like 6 buildings, 2 of which were houses that were converted into apartments (which I’m getting really sick of), 2 were buildings of the kind we lived in, and 1 was a small house. The floor plan—you walked in the front door and the first, largest room was a combined living room and kitchen. Off that was my daughter’s first bedroom of her own, then there was a small hallway, which the immediate room to the right of that door leading into it was our bedroom, then you went down the hall, got to the bathroom, then further down was our storage/heating unit room that later held our first washer as well.

3. How old were you when you had your apartment?

20 1/2 years old

4. Did you have roommates? If yes, tell us more.

If you count my husband and daughter as roommates, yes. Otherwise, a friend of his did stay with us for a total of a week.

5. What was your place of employment then?

While we lived there, I worked where T does now (and frankly always has since he came out here) for the 3 weeks he was laid off (long story, but how they originally had everything situated there was that the non-union was employed through the company, and if you didn’t get hired and go through the classes in your first 90 days or so, you got laid off, and if/when they took you off being laid off, your time started all over. Within 3 years of working there, though, they hired him into the union. That’s later in this story). Otherwise, I didn’t have any other job there than being a wife and mommy.

6. How were you finances at the time?

Somehow it seems things got stretched further than now when we have at least twice as much coming in (still all just from T really). T would point at out this point that we also were not paying for natural gas….and I’d like to add an addendum that we were also getting food stamps, WIC and at least D was on Medicaid.

7. Tell us about a lover who spent a night there.

Um…..every friggin’ night my “lover” spent the night. He’s called my HUSBAND!!!!!

8. Tell us about a band you listen to then. (You can cheat. Look it up.)

Hmm….All the cassettes I would have had then….Metallica, Green Day, Garth Brooks….what more is there?

9. How long did you live there and why did you move from there?

We lived there for 2 1/2 years, maybe a bit more. We moved because T had finally gotten in the union, we had gotten a car, and I wanted a different place. But if you ask T, we shouldn’t have moved…I guess until we bought a house or something. 😐 Because, as I said, we weren’t paying for natural gas at the time, and after our rent that’s the biggest bill we’ve got. I can’t stand that…..

One comment

Leave a Reply

