Saturday 9 – 1/03/09

Seems I missed this when it was originally posted. It’s back posted.

sat9logo1

Saturday 9: Dying to Know

1. What do you believe happens when we die?

All these questions this week are so deep. At least there’s nothing on sleep—though, in Hamlet, Shakespeare wasn’t talking about the actual restorative sleep that we all get each night, but about death…so I guess Sam’s still got this hang up on sleep, huh? 😀

Anyhow, on to the heavy stuff….

I believe there’s someplace we all go when we die. What this is, I don’t know exactly. I do believe that, if we don’t acknowledge the grace that is given to us by Jesus’ death on the cross, then we won’t be as close to our Father when we do go to the other side than if we had succumbed to the Truth.

But I also acknowledge that I don’t know ALL of the Truth. I can’t see inside God’s mind. I don’t see what He sees, I don’t know what He knows. So I can’t know if I know the real Truth until I die, and then I’ll know for sure, now won’t I?

2. Do you consider yourself religious?

Yes. But not in the traditional sense. I go to church, I celebrate the church celebrations. I try my best to fulfill what I know of the Bible’s teachings, whether it be what I actually read or observed, or what I glean from what I have been told by people whom I acknowledge know more about the Bible than I do (in other words, my church elders.). But if you’re talking about the bible thumping, “follow these exact rules or you go to hell” kind of religious, no. That’s not my style. I will pray for you long before I tell you what I think. And I try my best to LIVE my beliefs first. But I also acknowledge that we all have freewill, and I don’t have the power to directly influence what you do. That’s why I pray for you.

3. Do you believe in ghosts?

I believe they are possible. There are things that have happened that I cannot explain, and that people are remiss to explain. I’ve never experienced something I can exactly say is a ghost, though I’ve wondered. I don’t fear them like I once did.

4. Do you believe that people live on other planets?

I believe it’s possible. Now, I believe that things are created by God (though not necessarily EXACTLY as Creationists like to believe). So I wonder if maybe, just maybe, He didn’t make people on more than one planet. I’m not comfortable calling beings on other planets “people” though. I prefer “intelligent life.” Who says it would be beings exactly like us? Though that is probably the most logical.

5. Have you ever seen something abnormal?

Ha. Yes. There is a certain incident on Ghost Hunters this last Halloween that they tried hard to but could not find an explanation for. And of any place I’ve lived, this house is the most abnormal.

6. Do you believe in reincarnation?

It’s possible. That’s about all I can say about it. My dad believes strongly in it. And if What Dreams May Come is my favorite movie, I have to think that’s at least a small possibility for reincarnation.

7. Have you ever witnessed a miracle?

Every day. My children.

8. Is there a person living or dead that influences your philosophies?

More and more, Christ is becoming that person. And, in fitting with my belief system, I’d have to say He’s “alive”. Though, really, coupling my ideas as to where we go when we die with reincarnation and that I believe that death is not an end but simply a transformation of energy and conciousness, then I’d have to ask—who ever really is “dead”?

9. Is there a work of fiction that closely matches your spiritual beliefs?

What Dreams May Come holds some things contained within my spiritual belief system. I’m discouraged, though, by the absence of any real acknowledgment of a GodHead. But who am I to talk?

Leave a Reply

